sweepladies

 

I simply wished to look upon a face –

you paused mid-sweep and gave me back my smile,

a simple thankyou doesn’t make first base.

 

Distracted by the pull of thing and place,

of church and bridge, of endless greening miles,

I simply wished to look upon a face

 

and there you were, presenting yours with grace.

This path you’ve cleared, I might yet walk awhile,

a simple thankyou doesn’t make first base.

 

Though history leaves fine lessons in its trace,

the changes on the human map beguile.

I simply wished to look upon a face

 

and so you let me, nothing left to waste.

Such beauty in your unassuming style,

a simple thankyou doesn’t make first base.

 

You held my hand and then you held my gaze,

a photograph to store in memory’s file.

I simply wished to look upon a face.

A simple thankyou doesn’t make first base.

sweeppile

